If you are involved in an injury traffic collision, call 911 for assistance. When you speak with a dispatcher, be prepared to provide the following information:
- Type of collision, example: Hit and Run, Non-Injury, Vehicle vs. Pedestrian.
- Injuries: How many are injured, are they conscious and breathing? Is it complaint of pain only? Do not move the driver/passengers if there are injuries. If the injured are children in child seats keep them strapped in the seats until paramedics arrive and determine the severity of the injuries. If you must remove the child from the vehicle for safety reasons, remove and carry the entire child seat out to a safe location.
- Are you involved in the crash, or are you a witness?
- Is one party unlicensed or uninsured?
- If it was a Hit and Run collision, provide vehicle and driver description, direction of travel, and vehicle plate number and suspect vehicle damage, if known.
- Stay calm on the line until the dispatcher says it's OK to hang up.
When the police arrive, have your driver's license, registration, and proof of current insurance ready for the officer.
If the collision is non-injury, if it is safe to do so and you are able to, move the vehicles out of the roadway to the side of the road or to the nearest parking lot to exchange information with the other driver. When you exchange information, you must include your full name and all information as it appears on your license, your vehicle registration information, including year of vehicle, make/model/color and plate number, and a valid phone number. An officer is not necessary to assist unless one party refuses to exchange information or one party is uninsured, or a traffic hazard exists and tow trucks are needed.
California law requires traffic collisions on a California street/highway or private property to be reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) within 10 days if there was an injury, death or property damage in excess of $750. Untimely reporting could result in DMV suspending a driver license.
To download the SR-1 form, visit the DMV website at: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/web/eng_pdf/sr1.pdf
If a report is taken, you may obtain a copy of the report at the front desk of the Police Dept. within 7-10 days.
|Neighborhood Traffic Unit||Traffic Collisions|
|DUI Enforcement||Street Sweeping|
|Child Passenger Safety
and Seat Belts
|Removal of Vehicles from
Public or Private Property
|Bicycle Safety and School Zones||Impound Hearings|
|Frequently Asked Questions|